Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Blitz’s Arena – UT2004 Demo Server

leave a comment »

I finally have a Windows demo server up and running for Unreal Tournament 2004. It is called Blitz’s Arena and hosts the typical Onslaught (ONS) and Capture The Flag (CTF) demo matches, so anyone with the game (either full or demo) can play.

The server is actually the Behemoth (check specs in previous posts) so it is pretty tough for such server use. However, since I am limited with upload bandwidth I can’t push the number of players that can participate, so it will be left at 2 vs. 2 until I decide to test a 3 vs. 3 game. Hopefully, I will be able to do this on a Linux distribution, since Linux is supposed to handle this much better than Windows. I have Mandriva 2006 32-bit and Gentoo AMD64-bit in mind, but these need time for proper setup.

This server will only be available during holiday seasons when I am able to administrate the server, e.g. during summer and Christmas vacation when I should be back from school abroad. Work shouldn’t interfere since I can just set it and let it run without me being there.

Blitz's Arena UT2004 Server

I have tested playing on the server myself (my alias is “Oblitzerator“) and I was surprised at the low pings all of my players were getting and the smooth gameplay! Great! If you are accessing the server from within The Bahamas or another Caribbean island you should expect smooth gameplay (server-side at least).

Have fun!

+Falcon1986

Written by falcon1986

18 July, 2006 at 9:18 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

