Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Bye-bye old mouse…hello optical mouse!

leave a comment »

I haven’t posted in a while, but that is due to other preoccupations, so this blog isn’t dead as yet!

A few days ago, while I was working on my laptop (the only PC I have access to now) I was feeling quite uncomfortable using the touchpad. Movements required too much “pressing” and the pad has become almost frictionless after so many years of use. I decided to get an external mouse, and as luck would have it I found a reasonably priced optical mouse in a bookstore. For $15 this thing works pretty good!

AOpen O-35GThe AOpen O-35G optical mouse is a different experience for me, since I’ve never owned an optical mouse; I’ve always used the familiar “ball” mice. This optical mouse comes with its own software for customizing programmable shortcuts. In addition to the regular left/right click buttons, this rodent also comes with 2 scrollwheels (horizonal and vertical scroll) and 2 additional clickable buttons for Forward and Backward (useful in web browsers).

Unlike some other optical mice the O-35G does not require any batteries because it is powered by your PC! Furthermore, it doesn’t matter if you want to use your PS/2 port or a spare USB port; the adapter that is packaged with the O-35G will allow you to use whichever connection you want! Personally, I don’t see much sense in wasting a USB port on a mouse so I still use the PS/2 port.

Anyway, from my point of view this thing works great. I saw a Microsoft optical mouse there but it costed close to $50 and required batteries! Maybe it is a wireless mouse (I didn’t check). I would recommend the AOpen O-35G to anyone who is moving to optical mice. It isn’t a new product, but it gave me something to post about. 😛

+Falcon1986

Written by falcon1986

13 September, 2006 at 8:48 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

