Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Getting adjusted to openSUSE 10.2

leave a comment »

Well, I was finally able to install openSUSE 10.2. The installation went smoothly and I was surprised at how the installer was able to properly identify my hardware, even down to the exact model/part number of my Toshiba Satellite 1800-S204 laptop! Although detection went well, there was still some configuration problems, which I was able to fix once I got into YaST and meddled with the settings.

My Linux desktopThe 2 major components that required attention were my audio card and printer. Yes, openSUSE recognized the ALi audio chipset, but I had to manually give my user account permission to use “audio”, which was quite strange since, by default, I had permissions to view “video”. What’s the good of “video” if there ain’t no audio! Anyway, that went smoothly after a reboot (so as to load the modules), so Amarok and RealPlayer 10 didn’t complain about it anymore. However, I wasn’t getting playback of certain media. I soon found out that I had to “add support” because, openSUSE, being open source and all, has to obey license agreements that restrict certain software being pre-loaded with its OS (as with many other open source software). I added the w32codecs and also installed libdvdcss from vlc quite easily. Now, my players can play back my MP3s; haven’t tested with DVD as yet.

Everything looks good so far. openSUSE 10.2 has a very “splexy” (as my sister would say) GUI. I’m still in the process of configuring it for speed because I noticed that things can get really slow at times. I’ve disabled some of the major eyecandy without losing too much, but, being the speed-demon I am, I’ll be looking for more tweaks! What I don’t understand is why my RAM usage is so high. I read a forum post about this being a difference between UNIX OSes and Windows. Things are always cached in RAM for faster access; I still need to find out if there is anything I can do to speed things up more. I’m afraid of disabling certain processes (as I could easily do in Windows) because that may leave the system crippled for me since I wouldn’t know what to do to fix it if I had to go through the console.

It takes time to learn Linux and I hope this becomes a great learning experience!

+Falcon1986

Written by falcon1986

7 February, 2007 at 10:31 AM

Posted in Linux

Leave a Reply

