Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Drowning in Linux – It’s really not for me!

leave a comment »

After my experience with SUSE I ran into problems, so I reinstalled and still ran into problems. Yast was just messing up all software dependencies. I decided to try Fedora Core 6 and my experience was better, but again short-lived. FC6’s package manager is quite mature so it handled RPMs and dependencies well. However, when it came to switching over to GNOME (I had originally installed KDE) I broke the system again! I was really hoping to use Beryl… [sniff]

Anyway, if those were all the problems I had then I would have still been using FC6 today (may have gone through like about 10 re-installations!), but another problem came up. Since my sister and I share a printer, which is directly connected to my laptop, she comes over to print her stuff. You should see how messed up a Microsoft Word 2003 document looks in OpenOffice.org! Anyway, she didn’t want to settle for having to use OO.o herself and for the life of me I couldn’t get MS Office to work with Crossover. After angrily backing up all of my important documents I pulled out my XP Recovery CDs and that started the 96-hours of Windows re-installation and configuration. Yes, it took me that long to install Windows XP’s Service Pack 2, get all required hotfix updates, Microsoft Office with the latest Office 2003 SP2 and the list goes on!

Anyway, after getting everything back up and running I finally realized why I like Windows. It’s simple and easy to use! It may not be perfect, but it’s good enough to get done what I want to get done. From now on I’ll stick to only using the LiveCD versions of Linux. So far Ubuntu has shipped me 3 CDs and Sun is supposed to be sending me Solaris. These and others may never get installed on any of my hard disks any time soon because I really think Linux doesn’t like me! 😛

+Falcon1986

Written by falcon1986

2 March, 2007 at 9:23 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

