Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

[mini] Movie Review: Fantastic 4 – Rise of the Silver Surfer

leave a comment »

Fantastic 4 - Silver Surfer

There was a choice of either watching the ‘Fantastic 4 – Rise of the Silver Surfer’ or ‘1408’ at the cinema today and I am glad I got to see the former. I have always liked superhero movies, especially the ones that come from the Marvel comics. When I first saw the first part of the ‘Fantastic 4’ I thought it was very good, although I really didn’t feel as excited as I did after watching this sequel! I honestly believe this was a great improvement to the series – something that isn’t quite common with movie sequels these days. Many of the old characters return such as Von Doom and a new semi-villain is trying to consume the world… or at least his master is!

F4-RofSS continues the story of the 4 who are enjoying the fame and attention they get from the public for being superheroes. [I must say that this is one of the rare occasions when superheroes’ true identities are known by everyone, which I thought would have been better if there was some secrecy. However, in keeping with the comics and cartoons I guess you couldn’t hide anyone’s identity if their costumes never hid their faces! Anyway, I digress…] Reed and Susan are planning on getting married but their wedding is rudely disturbed when the Silver Surfer starts wreaking havoc on the planet by extracting energy to feed his evil and power-hungry master Galactus. In an effort to save the planet “the 4” must cooperate with the military and the revived Dr. Doom to steal the Surfer’s energy source, his surf board. However, Dr. Doom has other selfish plans. He is able to obtain the surf board for himself and unleashes mayhem to all those who stand in the way. Drawn by the power of the surf board, Galactus approaches Earth, but before he can consume it all the Silver Surfer has a change of heart and ultimately sacrifices himself in the destruction of his master.

I’ll have to give this one a 7.5/10. I hope the next one is just as good or even better. Why do I have the strange feeling that Dr. Doom won’t be swimming with the fish for long? Hmmm…

Written by falcon1986

3 July, 2007 at 10:19 PM

Leave a Reply

