Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Falcon1986-Online Community launched!

leave a comment »

ForumToday I launched a new forum for my blog site. It will enable persons and myself to interact in a more friendly environment to speak about tech or just hang out! Registration is absolutely free.

Before installing the forum I was considering which one to use. I have set up and used phpBB before, but wasn’t very impressed with the feature-set. bbPress would have been great when integrating databases between WordPress and bbPress, but it lacks a nice GUI. I never really looked at SMF, but it seemed too complex for my needs at the time. Furthermore, I have file-type limitations on my free host and some of these pieces of software would not work without these limitations lifted. Anyway, myBB was my final decision and I don’t regret it so far. Apart from there not being any stable WordPress integration plugins available, its feature-set is quite extensive! I’m still finding new things every time I enter the admin’s CP.

I still have some customizations and sub-forums to organize. So far I’ve enforced some security measures and still have some more to do so that I don’t get the much-hated spammer threads! Be advised that registration on the forum is completely independent from this blog.

I hope you make good use of the community and that it is of help to you.

Written by falcon1986

22 August, 2007 at 6:41 PM

Posted in Site Updates

Leave a Reply

