Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

The end of the first week of classes!

leave a comment »

dna-helix.jpgThe first week back to university has finally ended. It was a long week; I experienced much frustration trying to get into courses that were available and shuffling around my timetable. Thankfully, something worked out so I won’t be overloaded this semester.

This year I registered for 3rd and 4th year courses including Histology, Microbiology, Virology, Entomology, Medical Entomology, Advanced Biochemistry I, Advanced Biochemistry II, Advanced Molecular Biology, Biomedical Ethics and Chromatography.

Phew! That was a mouthful! I’m glad that I only have to take 5 this semester and the other 5 next semester. From that list you can probably guess what my general career interest is… hmmm… By my final year I’ll be taking some intense courses but I hope to chisel off any extras over the summer.

Returning to classes brought mixed feelings. Yes, I was ready to get back into the classroom and start learning about some real cool scientific stuff, but I believe some of my brain neurons were still on vacation! The pace has definitely picked up and the sheer volume of expected information has definitely ballooned. However, with proper time management and dedication I should be able to pull this one off and return again for the next semesters.

What brought the week to a close were two club meetings I attended this evening. I actually felt less depressed than usual and enjoyed the time away from the books (not to say that studying is not important!). Let’s hope I’m able to keep this feeling up for the rest of the year. I’m already looking forward to the mid-term break even though it is several weeks ahead.

For all those who returned back to school this or last week, I hope you are settling in well and getting readjusted to the workload. Achieving success is never easy, but with God at your side things will turn out just fine.

Written by falcon1986

14 September, 2007 at 9:39 PM

Posted in University Life

Leave a Reply

