Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Fake Wordpress distribution site

leave a comment »

When I logged into my WordPress dashboard on my other website, I noticed this interesting article over at weblogtoolscollection about a website that has a fake version of WordPress for download. Apparently, they are calling this version of WordPress v2.6.4 which, as any WordPress user should immediately recognize, does not officially exist [at least not yet]. The software that you install from this site is actually a trojaned version of WordPress that seems to be based on some old vulnerabilities.

So the next time you go to upgrade or install WordPress, ensure that you are getting the files from http://wordpress.org and not a scam website.


Written by falcon1986

8 November, 2008 at 9:53 AM

Posted in Wordpress

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: