Falcon1986-Online

Home of a med student who likes to manage websites and talk tech!

Fix Facebook’s small font annoyance

with 3 comments

Facebook LogoAt the start of November 2010, I noticed that the font size on Facebook was noticeably smaller than I was accustomed to seeing. For a while I put up with it, but it got incredibly annoying as the days progressed. So, being a fan of Firefox extensions and Greasemonkey scripts I began my search for an add-on fix.

I like to keep Firefox lean and fast, so tacking on another extension to the ones I already use was not my first solution. Thankfully, someone over at userstyles.org, a great site for Stylish custom scripts, had a simple fix for both Greasemonkey and Stylish users. Whichever method you choose, the fix works by simply overriding Facebook’s current font-size CSS. Nothing else is modified.

After applying the Greasemonkey user script, Facebook text was once again comfortable to read. Give it a try and you will immediately notice the difference.

UPDATE: I would not be surprised if the authors of FFixer decide to include this fix in their update to this awesome Greasemonkey script.
Written by falcon1986

7 November, 2010 at 8:50 AM

Posted in Software

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I tried the Greasemonkey script, and didn’t like its behavior (though that could be a quirk of my browser — I’m an Opera junkie). I whipped up some custom CSS instead to fix the issue.

    I wish this post had been around yesterday; that Stylish custom script you linked to would have saved me a lot of work (and frustration), as Facebook doesn’t make it easy to go under the hood and hack their CSS. 🙂

    Allyn

    7 November, 2010 at 9:17 AM

  2. heres another simple fix, a browser addon called FB Purity adds an option to increase the font size, it also lets you block other annoying stuff from your newsfeed and homepage, its received great reviews from CNET, Lifehacker and PCWorld, you can get it here: http://www,fbpurity.com

    tamara farrington

    8 November, 2010 at 12:24 AM

  3. any thoughts about why email notices from FB that are delivered to Outlook are also coming in tiny font? How do I make those a readable size? thanks for your help!

    Paula

    3 December, 2010 at 8:59 PM


Leave a Reply

